ATA's 7th Birthday Logo

ATA Awards

The American Topical Association presents recognitions and awards in several basic categories:

  • The Distinguished Topical Philatelist Award (DTP) was created in 1952. This is the Association's highest honor and is presented when the recipient signs the Roll of Distinguished Topical Philatelists at the National Topical Stamp Show each year.
  • ATA Volunteer Awards are present to outstanding ATA members who have distinguished themselves through volunteer services to the Association.
  • Exhibition Awards - presented at both the annual National Topical Stamp Shows (NTSS) and at local and national (WSP) stamp shows.
  • Membership Recognition - collectors with 25- and 50-years of membership in the ATA are recognized for their commitment to the Association.

Distinguished Topical Philatelist

The Distinguished Topical Philatelist (DTP) is the highest award given by the American Topical Association. The designation is awarded for service to topical philately in general and to the American Topical Association (ATA) in particular.

The DTP is recognized in a presentation at the awards banquet during the ATA national show. Tradition dictates that the DTP awardee signs a scroll when the award is presented. Click here to see the list of past DTP awardees.

The winner is chosen by a committee consisting of past winners. The nomination period is announced in the fall, with the deadline being December 31 that year. To nominate someone for the award, an ATA member should write a letter outlining the person’s qualifications and achievements.

Nominations should be sent to:

Vera Felts, DTP Selection Chair
211 Petal Ln
Sequim, WA 98382-3612


Outstanding Volunteer Awards

Each year the ATA executive director chooses up to three people to receive the Outstanding Volunteer Award. Winners of this award are ATA members who work countless hours on ATA projects, without the expectation of recognition. ATA could not function without hundreds of volunteers who ably complete many tasks. With this award seeks to recognize those who have shown outstanding commitment to ATA.

©2019 - 2024, American Topical Association. All Rights Reserved.
The American Topical Association is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.
Post Office Box 2143, Greer, SC 29652-2143.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software